Cooperation with the Holocaust Memorial Centre Yad Vashem

During her trip to Israel in 2014, Minister President Hannelore Kraft signed a "Memorandum of Understanding for the Further Strengthening of the Cooperation" between the state government and the Israeli Holocaust Memorial Centre Yad Vashem. The Memorandum of Understanding is being successfully implemented. The cooperation with Yad Vashem has become closer and more intensive, particularly in the following areas:

Advanced training courses

The state has been cooperating with Yad Vashem for many years regarding advanced training courses for teachers. The teachers' training project ‘Education after Auschwitz’ has been offered since 1998 together with the International School for Holocaust Studies, Yad Vashem, Jerusalem. The Münster Regional Government is responsible for the project. Study trips for judges and prosecutors have also been performed and are still carried out on a regular basis.
These advanced training concepts have now been extended since 2016 by study trips for future police officials in higher-ranking service during their studies at the vocational college and, within the framework of the curricular possibilities, also in the training of students of senior police services at the German Police University (Deutsche Hochschule der Polizei (DHPol)). The Ministry of Internal Affairs and Municipal Issues (Ministerium für Inneres und Kommunales (MIK) concluded an appropriate agreement with Yad Vashem in December 2015 based on the Memorandum of Understanding. Furthermore, joint events are planned in North Rhine-Westphalia on police history and professional ethics organised by the educational institutions for police training and Yad Vashem.

Cooperation with the memorial centres

The Arbeitskreis der NS-Gedenkstätten und -Erinnerungsorte in NRW e.V. (work group of NS memorial centres and remembrance sites) visited Yad Vashem and three other memorial sites in Israel, promoted by the Landeszentrale für politische Bildung (State Centre for Political Education) in December 2015 to become familiar with the Israeli approach to remembrance work. The aim of the trip, which was the development of cooperation projects between North Rhine-Westphalian and Israeli memorial centres, was achieved. Hence, the local memorial centres will establish pedagogic materials together with Yad Vashem. Extremely well-equipped sources of NS police crimes in Belarus, which are available in North Rhine-Westphalia, can be used for this purpose. In addition, an Israeli-German methodological conference on inter-ethnic history teaching at memorial centres is planned.

Inclusion of Yad Vashem in educational and extra-educational youth exchanges / cooperation projects in education work

The Ministerium für Schule und Weiterbildung (MSW) (Ministry of School and Further Education) provides a special promotion program since 2015, if pupils visit the Yad Vashem Memorial Centre within the framework of a student exchange program. And the offers of Yad Vashem can also be used within the framework of extra-educational exchange projects. The pedagogic materials developed and provided by Yad Vashem were introduced and made known to local teachers by means of publications, at an education congress or during the course of a workshop.

The NRW educational partnerships were complemented by the new "Schools - Memorial Centres" partnership. Here, too, the close cooperation with Yad Vashem and the support of school trips to extra-curricular learning centres is a primary goal.

Partner school project Yad Vashem/ICHEIC

Since March 2013, seminar participants in the advanced teacher training course 'Education after Ausschwitz' have the possibility of concluding a school partnership between their school and the International School for Holocaust Studies in Yad Vashem.

In Kooperation mit

Kooperation mit der Holocaust-Gedenkstätte Yad Vashem

2014 hat Ministerpräsidentin Hannelore Kraft während ihrer Israel-Reise eine „Gemeinsame Absichtserklärung zur weiteren Stärkung der Zusammenarbeit“ der Landesregierung mit der israelischen Holocaust-Gedenkstätte Yad Vashem unterzeichnet. Die Absichtserklärung wird erfolgreich umgesetzt. Die Zusammenarbeit mit Yad Vashem ist insbesondere in folgenden Bereichen enger und intensiver geworden:

Fortbildungen

Bei der Fortbildung von Lehrerinnen und Lehrern kooperiert das Land mit Yad Vashem bereits seit vielen Jahren: Das Lehrerfortbildungsprojekt „Erziehung nach Auschwitz“ wird seit 1998 gemeinsam mit der International School for Holocaust Studies, Yad Vashem, Jerusalem angeboten. Verantwortlich für das Projekt ist die Bezirksregierung Münster. Auch Studienreisen für Richterinnen und Richter bzw. Staatsanwältinnen und Staatsanwälte wurden und werden regelmäßig durchgeführt.

Diese Fortbildungskooperationen werden seit 2016 erweitert um Studienreisen für angehende Polizeibeamtinnen und Polizeibeamte des gehobenen Dienstes während des Fachhochschulstudiums und im Rahmen der curricularen Möglichkeiten in der Ausbildung für den höheren Polizeivollzugsdienst an der Deutsche Hochschule der Polizei (DHPol). Eine entsprechende Vereinbarung hat das Ministerium für Inneres und Kommunales (MIK) im Dezember 2015 auf der Basis der Gemeinsamen Absichtserklärung mit Yad Vashem geschlossen. Weiterhin sind gemeinsame Veranstaltungen der Bildungsträger in der polizeilichen Aus- und Fortbildung und Yad Vashem in Nordrhein-Westfalen zu polizeigeschichtlichen oder berufsethischen Themen geplant.

 

Zusammenarbeit der Gedenkstätten

Der Arbeitskreis der NS-Gedenkstätten und -Erinnerungsorte in NRW e.V. hat mit Förderung der Landeszentrale für politische Bildung im Dezember 2015 Yad Vashem und drei weitere Gedenkstätten in Israel besucht, um die israelischen Ansätze der Erinnerungsarbeit kennen zu lernen. Das mit der Reise angestrebte Ziel, Kooperationen zwischen nordrhein-westfälischen und israelischen Gedenkstätten zu entwickeln, wurde erreicht: So werden die hiesigen Gedenkstätten gemeinsam mit Yad Vashem pädagogische Materialien erarbeiten. Dafür können die in NRW verfügbaren, sehr gut erschlossenen Quellen zu NS-Polizei-Verbrechen in Weißrussland genutzt werden. Zudem ist eine israelisch-deutsche Methodenkonferenz zum interethnischen Geschichtslernen an Gedenkstätten geplant.

 

Einbindung von Yad Vashem in den schulischen und außerschulischen Jugendaustausch / Kooperationen in der Bildungsarbeit

Das Ministerium für Schule und Weiterbildung (MSW) stellt seit 2015 eine Sonderförderung
zur Verfügung, wenn Schülerinnen und Schüler im Rahmen eines Schüleraustauschs an einem Besuchsprogramm in der Gedenkstätte Yad Vashem teilnehmen. Auch im Rahmen von außerschulischen Austauschprojekten können die Angebote von Yad Vashem genutzt werden. Die pädagogischen Materialien, die Yad Vashem entwickelt und herausgibt, wurden durch Publikationen, auf einem Bildungskongress oder während eines Workshops hiesigen Pädagoginnen und Pädagogen vorgestellt und bekannt gemacht.

Die Bildungspartnerschaften NRW wurden um die Partnerschaft "Schulen - Gedenkstätten" erweitert. Auch hier ist die enge Kooperation mit Yad Vashem sowie die Unterstützung von Schulfahrten an außerschulische Lernorte ein vorrangiges Ziel.

 

Informationsflyer zu  "Besuch von Yad Vashem im Rahmen eines Jugendaustauschs nach Israel"

 

Projekt Partnerschule Yad Vashem/ICHEIC

Seit März 2013 besteht für die SeminarabsolventInnen der Lehrerfortbildung Erziehung nach Auschwitz  die Möglichkeit, zwischen ihrer Schule und der International School for Holocaust Studies in Yad Vashem eine Schulpartnerschaft einzugehen.

 

Weitere Informationen dazu finden Sie hier

In Kooperation mit